The World Championship

June 10, 2009 by lawn bowls 

If there is anything that will prove that lawn bowling is not a stoggy sport that’s only played by retirees, it’s the World Championship. The World Championship in lawn bowling is much like the Olympics in that lawn bowling organizations (which are usually represented as countries) send their best to represent them and try for medals and, the event is held every four years.

The event first began in Australia in 1966 and it was just at the 2008 World Championships that men and women competed together. Lawn bowling organizations, such as Bowls Australia, first hold national competitions to determine which players they will send to the World Championships. Each organization is represented by 5 players who will play first as singles and fours, and then will play as pairs and triples. The top three winners of each category are awarded a gold, silver, or bronze medal and the best 5-player team will also win an award. For men, this is called the Leonard Trophy and for women it’s called the Taylor Trophy. 

The last lawn bowling World Championships was held in Christchurch, New Zealand in 2008 and the next event will take place in Adelaide, Australia from November 24, 2012 to December 9, 2012.

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google


Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!